Andrew Lloyd Webber: Jesus Christ Superstar - 50th Anniversary Edition: Limited Edition 3CD

Jesus Christ Superstar - 50th Anniversary Edition: Limited Edition 3CD

Andrew Lloyd Webber

  • US$86.99
    Delivery from US$9.12

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 17 September 2021
  • In Stock
Product code
Triple CD Album

Few albums had an impact the size of Jesus Christ Superstar. Within three years of its release in September 1970, it had spawned a Broadway and West End phenomenon, a London cast album and a box-office smash Hollywood film, and influenced many different rock operas that were to follow in its wake.

It made the name of its young composers, Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice.

With this release, we take you back to a time when these bastions of the establishment were strictly underground, working with the cream of progressive rock at London’s Olympic Studios.

The original Jesus Christ Superstar has little to do with The Phantom Of The Opera or Chess; it united current or future members of leftfield London bands such as the Grease Band, Soft Machine and Fairport Convention. Ian Gillan was soon to find fame as the lead singer of Deep Purple.

This landmark release, assembled with the involvement of Andrew and Tim, features a new remaster of the original 1970 double concept album at Abbey Road by Nick Davis (Phil Collins/Genesis) and Miles Showell.

10×10″ box set CD edition with a 100 page booklet, featuring an extended oral history of the album gathered and edited by Lois Wilson of MOJO/Record Collector including new interviews with all key members of original recording – as well as Andrew and Tim, there are Ian Gillan, Murray Head, Yvonne Elliman, Mike d’Abo, Alan O’Duffy (engineer) and more Plus an essay by Nile Rodgers (CHIC) and Matt Berry (What We Do In The Shadows/Toast Oof London) as to what Jesus Christ Superstar means to them. Of great interest to collectors, there is a third disc of nine previously unreleased guide vocals and demos from the project, plus B-sides and rarities; although these are often merely snippets, they offer delicious insight into this work in progress. memorabilia from Tim Rice’s personal collection.

Unreleased material mixed by Nick Davis. Album remastered by Miles Showell and Nick Davis at Abbey Road, November 2020.

Disc 1
1 Overture  
2 Heaven On Their Minds  
3 What’s The Buzz – Strange Thing, Mystifying  
4 Everything’s Alright  
5 This Jesus Must Die  
6 Hosanna  
7 Simon Zealotes / Poor Jerusalem  
8 Pilate’s Dream  
9 The Temple  
10 Everything’s Alright - Reprise  
11 I Don’t Know How To Love Him  
12 Damned For All Time / Blood Money  
Disc 2
1 The Last Supper  
2 Gethsemane (I Only Want To Say)  
3 The Arrest  
4 Peter’s Denial  
5 Pilate And Christ  
6 King Herod’s Song (Try It And See)  
7 Judas’ Death  
8 Trial Before Pilate  
9 Superstar  
10 Crucifixion  
11 John Nineteen Forty-One  
Disc 3
1 Ascending Chords  
2 Damned For All Time / Blood Money - Guide Vocal  
3 King Herod's Song (Try It And See) - Guide Vocal  
4 I Don't Know How To Love Him - Tim Rice And Murray Head Vocals  
5 I Don't Know How To Love Him - Murray Head Vocals  
6 This Jesus Must Die - Scat Vocals 1  
7 What A Party  
8 This Jesus Must Die - Scat Vocals 2  
9 Heaven On Their Minds - Instrumental  
10 I Don't Know How To Love Him  
11 (Too Much) Heaven On Their Minds - German Single  
12 Strange Thing (Mystifying)  
13 John Nineteen Forty-One - Remastered 2021